Tired of taking the garbage out every other day?

Then I think I can help. My former roommate and I got our apartment’s collective garbage can down to the size most Americans use in their bathrooms. And we emptied it maybe once a week.

Amazing? Impossible? How can that be so.

Simple. Reduce. Yes, reduce everything you put in there.

Now I know that is a “duh” statement, but in all honesty, do you pay attention to what you throw away? I’m safe to answer for you: No. Most people get satisfaction out of tossing items in the bin … out-of-sight-out-of-mind, one less responsibility. But we know life doesn’t work that way, and one day city hall may be building the city’s next dump in your backyard. Then, you will care.

Pay attention. Be conscientious. What are you throwing away? What are the alternatives – repurpose/upcycle, donate, recycle, compost, etc.?

Most items are indeed recyclable. Go to your municipality/waste pickup service if you are uncertain … or for really questionable items like old paint and electronics, check out http://earth911.com/recycling/.

Over Christmas break, my sister and I got my mom to stop throwing away paper/paperboard. She had been just throwing it away since her pickup service doesn’t take it. However, there is a recycling drop-off center literally at the end of her block that she passes everyday multiple times. So, we got her to place the paper/paperboard into a bag which, when full, she can put in her car and then conveniently drop off when she is out. She has told me that she now takes the garbage out half as often. You will be surprised at how much paper we go through. More importantly, paperboard creates a negative space in your trash bag that doesn’t get filled in. This void makes your trash seem full, when it really isn’t. Take the challenge, and be amazed at the instant results.

As you become more aware, you will take preëmptive action against producing waste – like obtaining materials with less packaging.

You may also find that you throw out a lot of food. Even if your bin is 1/4 full, your leftover tuna sandwich scraps will make you want to immediately take it out.  So first take preemptive action and only cook what you know you can eat, and appropriately store leftovers. Eat leftovers within a few days, or they may get lost in your refrigerator, only to be thrown out months later.  You can also start a compost bin. Composting our inedible food and scraps is the biggest factor in shrinking our waste bin. Eliminating any “wet waste” (ie anything that can decompose) from our bin meant that we could go forever without emptying it. At least that is, until it was full.  We utilized the full potential of our trashcan.

Also, consider doing something else with those one-time-use, “disposable” plastic bags from shopping. They are very fluffy and waste space. Many retailers are starting to collect plastic bags for recycling, although I doubt the sincerity of this effort (it’s just “greenwashing”).  Taking your own reusable bags, or just reusing the plastic bags, will considerably cut your waste stream.

As a final tip for if you get caught up in recycling as I have. As a college student, I produce a lot of glass bottles, metal cans, and paper/paperboard due to my various activities. Being responsible with my refuse entails a lot of recycling. As I live in an apartment and we don’t have curbside recycling where you can just dump all the recyclables into one bin, I actually have to sort the material. At first, I would throw all recyclables into the same bin, and then go through it all at the drop-off center. This method became quite a chore. I eventually learned that if you have separate bins for each category within your home and do the sorting as you produce the waste, you will save yourself a lot of time and effort down the road (as long as all residents and guests are on the same page).

Begin simple, just observe. Then start with little actions. Before you know it, you will be a master. Good luck!

P.S. For tips on reducing waste from your fridge, read this post of mine.

About demintedmint

Just a gal from the mountains of North Carolina. I love to travel and explore nature. So far, I have been to several areas of the US (mainly East Coast and Southwest), Ireland, Brazil, Australia, New Zealand, and Mexico. My passions are anything to do with the environment and art/photography/DIY hobbies. As of December 2010, I have a B.S. in Environmental Technologies. Not sure what I'm going to do with it yet, but get a job travelling and saving the world. The blog I keep (demintedmint.wordpress.com) reflects my passion for the environment by addressing many pressing issues. Also, lots of other random little things that I care about.
This entry was posted in Actions, Challenges, Home, Reform, Sustainability, Waste and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment