Science Triumphs: Cellphone Battery Experiment

Greg and I had a disagreement on whether turning a phone off to charge actually makes a difference. I know he is right in that to save a battery’s life over time, you should let it decharge completely before recharging. However, I thought I am right about turning it off, especially a power hungry device like a smartphone.

So I set up a little experiment: since my phone tells you the percentage of its battery charge, I would record the charge percent and time, turn it off, then turn it back on and record the new charge and time. I would leave it on for a bit, and then take another measurement. And repeat this process back and forth. It was the same ratio every time for on and off.  All this was through the USB cable to computer, I am not sure if it changes for an direct outlet or not.

Turned off: 2.15 minutes to charge 1%

Turned on: 3 minutes to charge 1%

Which means turned off it would take 3.58 hrs to charge from 0 to 100%, while turned on it would take 5 hours.  That is quite a difference in rates. And if you are letting your phone fully decharge then fully charge, you want it to be as fast as possible because after all, it is supposed to be a mobile phone.

About demintedmint

Just a gal from the mountains of North Carolina. I love to travel and explore nature. So far, I have been to several areas of the US (mainly East Coast and Southwest), Ireland, Brazil, Australia, New Zealand, and Mexico. My passions are anything to do with the environment and art/photography/DIY hobbies. As of December 2010, I have a B.S. in Environmental Technologies. Not sure what I'm going to do with it yet, but get a job travelling and saving the world. The blog I keep (demintedmint.wordpress.com) reflects my passion for the environment by addressing many pressing issues. Also, lots of other random little things that I care about.
This entry was posted in Experimentation, Science and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment